PWM LEDs for Rotary Encoder Position

Spandex

Hi.  About to start building a MIDIBox64e (together with a monome in a single enclosure :)).  Hoping somebody can answer some questions.  I've hunted round the Wiki/Forums so I really hope I'm not asking RTFM questions.

Like this thread, I see lots of references to PWM LED control with DOUT but not much concrete anywhere.

I'd like to use a single LED for each rotary encoder, using brightness to represent position.  Will probably have 24 encoders.

As I understand it, there's no simple builtin PWM in MIOS.  So my questions are:

1) Can I do this for 24 LEDs using just DOUT boards?

2) If so, what sort of refresh rate would I get?

3) Does MIOS support this in any way or would I have to write some additional software?

I'm comfortable with the software bit (have done PWM for servo control in Motorola 68k ASM before) but scared of departing from the standard DOUT kit because I'm no electronics expert.

Ideally, I'd like to be able to have 24 LEDS with at least 128 diff brightnesses and no flicker.  Am I going to struggle?  Why has this chap made a hardware mod to drive the LEDs?  Is it just about supplying them with more current for brightness?  I couldn't see anything that looked like dedicated PWM in his hardware schematic or the software changes.

My next question is probably going to be "What about 48 or 72 LEDS for bicolor or RGB" :)

Any help greatly appreciated.

Twice today? I reckon that makes this Question a Frequently Asked one :)

I'd read that thread and found it useful but also confusing.  Mostly it seems to suggest that I'd need hardware and software mods, although the last post seems to suggest just a software mod.  All YOUR posts say it's not possible without overloading the core.. so I'm going to assume that's the correct answer.

Thanks.