PSU Sticky Nomination

Snoozr

Hi all,

I'd like to nominate this for a MIDIbox SID sticky.   I just spent more time than I care to say trying to figure out how to approach the PSU (since I am just a musician [no electronics skills], sometimes this all looks like Japanese to me  ;D).

In fact, I would also like to nominate this (or something like this) as a link inside the MBSid Walkthrough page. 

http://www.danielprice.org.uk/synth-diy/sid_2.htm

Thanks (and massive thanks to TK for all of this!)

PS - this would probably cut down the number of noob questions that the Moderators have to answer....

Welcome aboard! ;D

Excellent documentation. Crying shame that he didn't put it on the wiki where it belongs :(

I've said 1000 times it seems, that off-site documentation is bad, because it tends to disappear over time, and is harder to find (won't turn up in any searches), does not get updated, cannot be updated by other users, etc etc. I could go on all day.

Please feel free to turn it into a wiki page and link it in there. Just copy and paste the text, apply some formatting, and email the images to MBWiki.Upload@gmail.com and I will put them on the wiki for you. No need for a sticky though, IMO.

PS - you can edit your posts.

PPS - Maybe when you edit your first post and remove the second one, you can fix the link (remove the trailing "/"):

http://www.danielprice.org.uk/synth-diy/sid_2.htm

:)

... and every time someone references that how-to, I say "He used a bridge rectifier with an uncommon pinout causing more than one person to burn out their transformer because they wired it up incorrectly"

Feel free to quote me in the wiki page you make  ;D