Another MidiboxSID is born. (has now been born)

I've been planing my midibox for about two months now. But since I've been busy with other stuff too I haven't been able to get started. Until today!

I love what you guys are doing with mb6582s and superdupermidiboxes and sure it would be fun to build something like that someday. But for now it's a mono sid with a simple control surface.

So time to get building:

First mission was to scavenge the SID-chip. Nothing strange here. I knew that it was a 6581 and it wasn't hard-soldered so no problems getting it out of the C64. I also took the powerled. While planing I decided against using the powerplug from the C64 and going with a panelmount one so I didn't take that. The reason for this is that the MIDI-sockets and RCA jacks are going to be panelmount because I want them to be more "trip-on-the-wire-proof". I also don't like to drill square holes. :)

Next mission was to build the PSU. After carefully reading the schematics for the optimized PSU for a last time I started assembling it. Now building on a perfboard with solder islands turned out to be harder than I first thought. Geting the components on the board was easy but connecting them to eachother was a bit trickier. I used the connecting solder blobs technique and it felt a bit risky with the possible cold joints but it turned out fine. I also used wire for the longer connections.

Apart form one bad solder connection progress was slow but smooth. The end result was quite nice and tidy. (Except the ugly underside, I might actually go for stripboard for the CS later on, blobbing just isn't my style.) My caps are good for 35V so they are a bit big but otherwise it's quite compact.

End result: 14V DC = 14.4V DC, 5V DC = 5.3V DC. I guess that will drop closer to x.0 with some load.

To be continued....

Btw crimping the sil-connectors with just a pair of pliers is quite tedious and I've only done four so far. ;)

3775_6581_jpg530319fb343daf30b52b722de3f