A Couple of quick questions re POTS and double use, and self lit buttons.

The III Man

Hi All,

I have previously built a midibox 64, most of which still works, I have learnt from my mistakes and plenty about the midibox setup but have a couple of queries regarding a new mini controller I want to build: (fyi ots going to be a basic little controller, aluminium front, wood sides, to be used live to control bass synths, predominantly the 303 vst emuliation phoscyon, whilst playing out live)

1, I only want 16 pots so is it possible, and if so how, to have a button that when pressed forces pots to send out midi on a different channel, thereby giving me the possibility of doubling up on pots as many grooveboxes do? ( I am no programmer so do please explain in newbie terms) For instance to have a FX1 controlled by 2 pots and when depressed the pots will cnahge parameters on FX2 leaving one untouched.

2, I dont want to use any DOUTs, but if I have buttons I would hope to use the buttons to give me visual feedback (ie via LED) as to whether something is ON/OFF, or simply if the button is down or up. For example If I have the FX1 & FX2 units and the answer to the above question of is yes (i.e. I can double up on pot functions), then I would want my button to be lit if it was pressed in and therefore in mode number 2.

My thought on this was to use some sort of SPST Latching switch (is that right?) with an inbuilt LED (presuming they exist) when the actual mechanics of the button cause it to become lit and don't rely on any processing. Is this a sensible way to go, if so what kind of button am I after?

Thanks in advance for your help as ever. (i have searched and read widely but didnt find the posts that could help me out)

Cheers

toby

2, I dont want to use any DOUTs,

... why not? Switches described as below will be more expensive.