Upload Mios Error - Received SysEx message of less than 8 bytes

MONSTA

This is the first MidiBox I've attempted, so forgive me if I'm a bit of a noob.

I have built a pic core with LCD module and PIC18F452 from Mikes shop. Connected the core through a Midi/USB cable and it appears in Mios Studio fine with the Midi In Monitor showing the "SysEx: F0 F7" message every 2 seconds.

I then downloaded the "mios_update_v1_9f" and tried uploading "update_without_installed_mios.hex" which starts, but I get this error:

Received SysEx message of less than 8 bytes.

I've done a search in the forums but can't find out how to fix this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Christian

I have come to the assumption that it's the midi Cable. I'm taking it back tomorrow and just getting 2 midi cables that should connect either through my NI Audio 8 or I believe people have had success with Axiom25's, even if it does sound like a pain to get setup.

I'm using this interface:

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=48612

The only other alternative without ordering online was a ESI MIDIMATE which is on the list.

I can't believe I forgot to put what OS i'm using, sorry about that, I am running the latest version of OSX. If anyone knows of an interface that definitely works (maybe on ebay.co.uk) then I'll order one right away.

Thanks again

Christian

Ok, this seems to be a firmware bug (maybe a protocol violation), because from my experiences with various interfaces (and especially with the MBHP_CORE_STM32 module) the internal MacOS driver works pretty stable (IMHO the most robust implementation compared to Windows and Linux solutions I know)

I added the interface to the blacklist.

I hope that you've more luck with your NI Audio 8

Best Regards, Thorsten.