Motormix emulation

Steven_C

OK its been a few years since I've played midibox...

I pulled out my Midibox LC this morning, (PIC18F452 based) and was wondering the basic steps to turn it into a CM motormix emulation?

Do I need to find the old version of the motormix application? Or will the new version work with my hardware?

Do I need to compile it? (I never used MIOS studio, I always used to use the Microchip IDE, then convert with perl and then upload with midi OX!)

Do I need to configure it? (I used the default pinouts, shift register locations etc in my Midibox LC build)

What's the best way to get the app into my Midibox LC?!

Cheers and hi to all,

Steve C.

P.S. I know logic with LC rocks but I need to practice using Protools to keep my PT skills up!

OK my re-found midibox obsession has had me up till 3am in the morning... just like my good old mb days! (when I was a student, studying sound, obsessed with pots, buttons and motorfaders!)

So I was on the wrong track... (got caught up thinking in terms of the old compiling/converting/uploading methods) I thought it was too good to be true to be able to just upload a project.hex file to a running core using the Mios Studio app!!! But it is true!

Read here: http://www.ucapps.de/mios_studio.html

To re-iterate:

To upload one of the completed MIOS applications, you construct a core, power it up, connect your midi cables to your computer, load your project.hex file into Mios studio, and click start to send the app to the core module!

So I have tried the Motormix emulation... and it works! I have been able to control Protools (M-powered demo v7.4) faders with the Motormix application.

So far, I have been able to control banks of 8 faders, pan encoders, mutes, solo, select track, bank select and some other functions (that are also available as hot-keys anyway)

A few issues...