Using Midibox SID in a 'traditional' way

RogB

Hi all,

Im new to this Midibox SID thing, and trying to do some research but struggling a bit, I hope you dont mind the newbie questions!

Basically, what I want to do is make c64 style chipmusic, which means relatively close to the restrictions of the original (well, with 2 sids) hardware. (im not too interested in using the SID as a modern synth - like massive polyphony, stereo, or emulating 303's)

So looking at the sammichSID, I see that it has 2 SID chips. from demos i've seen, its usually dedicated to one task in a song (like a bassline) So its hard to get a feel for how flexible it is.

I understand that the Midibox uses these things called 'engines' so presumably this is why its dedicated to one task?. (like lead where you can use polyphony, or bassline)

If I was to use it in a traditional way, i'd need 6 seperate monophonic channels, usually dedicated to one or more instrument.

eg

SID1

1 - bass

2 - lead1

3 - lead2

SID2

4 - bassdrum + hihat

5 - snare

6 - effects

(This would all be entirely mono. i realise the original c64 has only 1 sid and 3 channels but I dont want it to be hard for the sake of it!) :)

Is this what the Multi Engine is capable of? I think multitimbral is the word.. (midi isnt my strong point!) :)

I suppose what im looking for is similar to using Goattracker with a HardSID uno (the player, not the VST unit), but the hardsid players only support one SID at once.

This MSSIAH video is also very similar to what I mean.

Its got 6 channels (using 2xSids) and each channel is using a different instrument.

sorry for the rambling and also if this is a common question, I hope some of it makes sense.

many thanks!

Roger

Hiya RogB, welcome aboard! :flowers:

In layman's terms, the engines on the mbSID do, what a tracker does - they tell the SID chip what to do. If you want to go with traditional chip tune stuff, you basically want to bypass them.