help needed with LCDs

daemonik

I've got 2 of these LCDs: digikey optrex (datasheets at digikey!)

black dot's and white LED backlight

My general problem is, they are not equally illuminated and have unequal contrast!

thus I probably have to use two separate illumination/contrast control circuits.

As for contrast, this is not difficult... but I have some uncertainties with illumination:

1. I'm no expert but I guess I could also drive the backlight LED's with 12V???

12V are used since I want to connect an AOUT_NG-Module and also need 12V Gate Outputs (Roland System100 and hopefully some other in the future).

furthermore, 12V for LED backlight would be much appreciated by the 7805 which gets really hot (~90°C at 250mA backlight current [spec. stats a max current of 125mA for each modules backlight])

2. could I use just a resistor and a pot in serial instead of the constant current source for each module? or would this lead to unstable illumination? I'm using a 12V 1.5A switched PSU.

any help is much appreciated!!!

and merry x-mas to all

1. I'm no expert but I guess I could also drive the backlight LED's with 12V???

12V are used since I want to connect an AOUT_NG-Module and also need 12V Gate Outputs (Roland System100 and hopefully some other in the future).

furthermore, 12V for LED backlight would be much appreciated by the 7805 which gets really hot (~90°C at 250mA backlight current [spec. stats a max current of 125mA for each modules backlight])

2. could I use just a resistor and a pot in serial instead of the constant current source for each module? or would this lead to unstable illumination? I'm using a 12V 1.5A switched PSU.

You cannot drive them with 12V directly but as you suggested with a resitor in series that regulates voltage and current. The forward voltage for this type of LEDs is 3.5V according to the datasheet.