First Project - MidiBox 64

b.vigo

Hello, people. Newbie here.

I've been spending the last month doing a sketch for a project I have in mind (a Traktor Midi controller) and have been browsing forums and guides for info. The sketch is ready and I'm about to order the parts (PCB and components) and start building it. However, I still got some doubts I'd like to clear before buying anything.

- What I have in mind is to build a set of 3 controllers (One for the 'A' deck, another for 'B', and the last one for the mixer, each one connected to an USB port) where each of them can work independently from each other. This would mean I'll have to use at least 3 independent cores (PIC based). Will my computer be able to recognize each of the controllers separatelly, and if so, how would it do so? What 'names' will it use for each one?

- What is a 'Bankstick' and what is it useful for? I still can't figure that out!

- Is it necessary to connect a LTC to the core? Will my Midibox be able to work without one? (I read at some part that configurations can be done while connected to a pc via the Editor, after installing MIOS -using SysEx- on a burned PIC, am I right?)

- Will I necessarily have to use and upload apps to the chip? In what ways can apps help you when it comes to a midi controller?

- I'm thinking of buying pre-burned chips (for the Core8) at SmashTV, and one thing I noticed at the Core8 Section is that you can choose between different chips (PIC18f452, PIC18f4620 and PIC18f4685, if I'm not wrong). Does this mean there will be different steps for each of these when trying to set up a controller? (The guide is explained for a PIC18f452 as far as I know, so in case this is true, I think I'll go for this one)

Thanks for reading. I'm really willing to learn about this, so I would greatly appreciate help with any of the above questions. Oh, and sorry for my english, in case an error is found. It's not my native language (:

Hi b.vigo, and welcome aboard :)