Making a 'Matt Gray' style bass in MULTI mode...

Tonka

Hello all - wonder if somebody here can help me with this?

Looking at the wavetable section in the MULTI section of the MBSID, it's looking that it's not possible to make the classic Matt Gray bass (listen to Dominator, Last Ninja 2, etc - a wavetable sound which starts with a high pitched noise wave an then goes into a pulse wave). I can make the basic sound I want (using Rutger's java editor) but cannot change the pitch of the noise within the wavetable without changing the pitch of the pulse too. Ideally, the noise pitch would need to be at it's highest pitch and static (so it doesn't change when played at lower keys).

Hopefully I'm missing something obvious, but it looks like you can only select one parameter per wavetable in multi mode? Spent a looooong time looking into this last night (I'm not good at asking for help) but I'm totally stumped on this one so could use some advice. It's a lot different to the other wavetable's I've used (MSSIAH, Quadrasid, etc) and I can't get my little brain around it...

Let me know if I'm not making any sense! ;oD

Cheers.

Tonka

Edited by Tonka

Hi Tonka,

yes, you are right, currently only a single parameter is played in multi mode - i know that this sometimes isn't optimal, but at the time I programmed this I was a bit carefull by allocating resources to have more freedom on additional user requests.

Resources are critical here, as the multi engine runs 6 independent wavetable sequencers in parallel...

I can't increase the nmber of WT sequencers, and assigning WTs to instruments makes the usage more complicated than it already is, thats the dilemma :-/

I still don't know a simple solution beside of making WTs assignable to the instrument, would this be ok for you, or do you have a better idea?

Btw.: does your sound work with the lead engine, or are there other issues?

Best Regards, Thorsten.

Hi Thorsten - thanks for the response.