Desoldering component on SammichFM board

dtg84

Hello,

I am new to MIDIbox and have minimal experience soldering. Everything has been going swimmingly (even got ICs on without much trouble). However, I noticed that I soldered the incorrect resistor in one part of the PCB. I desoldered it and removed the resistor, but in doing so ended up stripping the contact points for the two sides of the through-hole resistor. My question: am I SOL??? I hope I didn't ruin the board...

Thanks,

Dylan

To estimate the damage, we need hi-res pics from front and backside. You can most likely use a short wire from another solder point to fix the problem.

If you need to desolder components again, first cut every pin at the top of the PCB, remove the component, then use a vacuum pump from the backside and your iron from the frontside for every pin to "clean" the holes.

Edited by Hawkeye

Sorry, I am not quite sure what you mean by using a "short wire from another solder point". Can you please explain in detail?

Unfortunately I don't have a decent camera to get a close-up shot. All I can say is that on the top of the PCB on one contact point of the resistor seems to be completely stripped of metal. The other contact point seems to be stripped of metal on the backside.

That description is unfortunately not very helpful without pictures - if you can provide at least the resistor number from the board you might be able to get better help. That said, what Hawkeye is talking about is to follow the track where the resistor goes and to use a wire to solder the resistor somewhere else. This could involve scraping the solder mask (the red coloring) off the top of the trace enough to see copper and solder the wire to it, or you can often solder the wire directly from the component the preceded the pad you lifted, thereby bypassing the area.