LCD without display on MB 6582

weedoo

After a while away, I started playing around with my not completed mb-6582. I am having a weird problem with my LCD. When I turn the device on the only thing I see is the backlight working. There is no text written. I am able to upload the test tone and the mb6582 setup file. Both give the exact same result. I tried 2 different LCD (different brand and model) and both react the same way. Anyone has an idea ?

I'm sure about the wiring, I used the same lcd as in Hawkeye's tutorial, the same wiring. As for shorts, I guess this is the last thing to check for. I'm not the best in electronic. I'm good at soldering but debugging a board is alot for my knowledge. Any other clue ?

Damn... I found it !!! The first LCD I used is fried. The second worked... when I started playing around the potis.... damn me, you guys were right !!! I now get

E002|H128*Ld Chn.16

1***|<Ens. BankStick

Is there any list of error codes available ?

Thanks again guys.

That is no error code, it says Ensemble 2, Patch H128, Lead Instrument, Listening on MIDI Channel 16, SID Pair 1 active in user interface (2-4 not active)

So, have fun with your new fantastic synth!

Greets,

Peter

Edited by Hawkeye

• 1 year later...
  • 1 year later...

Ok thanks very kind of you to help out!

next dumb question:

Where is the pot located exactly, is it on the display module or the main PCB or erm..?

Thanks in advance, sorry for my newbie questions, I have yet to build my own, I figured the best approach was to acquire a working one to cross reference first * and get to know it inside and out, so I'm coming from a bit of a  reverse 'engineering' approach, if you see what I mean.

* (before attempting a build, I was a bit concerned the whole project had wound down on the forum and I might not be able to get much advice)

SF

Edited by SpaceFire

Search the wiki for "mb6582" and you will find the page with the details.

There's a FAQ on it. Quote: