latency in mb64e

technobreath

Yo,

I'm getting more set on building a 64E nowdays. I have a masterkeyboard now (a radium64) that has some pots and sliders on it. This is really "slow". When I turn the pot - for example a pot assigned to cutoff, the realtime change in the sound is very very "steppy" if u know what I mean. I gotta move the pot really slow to get a even seamless reaction from the vsti.

Is this gonna be the same in the 64E? Or is it just because the brain in the radium is just too slow?

I really found a need today when playing my digital piano and combining it with analog synthesis with lowpass filtered pad. That sound is really really nice, but the latency or low resolution at high speed turning kinda ruins it for me. So I'm gonna need a portable controller (wich can be set on top of the stagepiano / digital piano in my studio) that is faster / has better "resolution" I guess... and also the possibility to attach a couple of expression pedals - controlling analogpad cutoff freq while playing the piano can be used to make some really nice and dynamic music!

So, what's the verdict from those of u who know the midibox HUIs better than me? Will it be worth building this - will it behave? :)

Hi,

on MB64E you won't notice such latency issues, since pots/encoders/buttons are scanned faster than a MIDI message could be transmitted -> full bandwidth! :)

But the resolution is limited to 7bit to avoid jittering pot values.

For higher resolutions an AINSER64 module will be required, a LPC17 core module and a MIOS32 based application which converts them into MIDI events which are understood by your synth.

Unfortunately you haven't mentioned if and how your synth understands higher resolutions (which MIDI events have to be sent?)

Best Regards, Thorsten.