Recommend a DAW?

Sauraen

There's a chance that in a couple months, I will be commissioned to write the soundtrack for an indie film. If this works out, I will need to upgrade my music production software immediately; if not, the upgrade will still happen but much later.

I work primarily with VSTIs that imitate real instruments (EastWest Complete Composers Collection), and only secondarily with electronic sounds and hardware (e.g. MIDIbox). I've been using Sibelius 5 for a few years and I love it, but in trying to make a professional-quality instrumental with it I've found out that I need automation (at least for volume) and EQ, which Sibelius doesn't offer; so I had to export audio track-by-track into Audacity and do the levelling and EQ work manually afterwards, which was a pain.

I want to be able to, all within one program, go from writing in notes (hopefully in an intuitive manner and not painstakingly clicking one-by-one on a piano roll) to hearing the final mix playing in real time. EQ, reverb, the works; automation of any VST parameter; an intuitive way of working with the velocity and CC layers of a MIDI track. And it absolutely has to be a 64-bit program (Windows), since my new computer has 32 GB of RAM specifically for this purpose. As far as price, if I get this commission I'll have a little money to spend on it, but I'd still rather it be less than $1000.

My experiences with other DAWs are the following:

• Tried FL studio; couldn't figure out the simplest things: how to get notes into a track, how to connect the output of a MIDI track to a VST, how to connect the output of a VST to an audio bus like Master...
  • Tried Pro Tools; it always BSOD'd my computer within five seconds of startup.