is the STM32F4 EOL?

Zam

Hi all

For info

I just check STM32F4disco at one of my regular component supplier, and there is a new one coming soon.

So I check at manufacturer and the board is now NRND, replaced by something looking absolutely the same but with STM32F407VG in place of STM32F407VE.

http://www.st.com/web/catalog/tools/FM116/SC959/SS1532/PF252419

I have no knowledge for understanding/comparison about change.

Just to let you know there is certainly a need to check what's going on, and be sure MIOS/MBHP will run fine with new STM32F4 board

Best

Zam

• 3 weeks later...

Hi,

methinks the new SKU to search for is

"STM32F407G-DISC1"

It features the new "G" processor, has the same 1MB of flash, 192KB of RAM, 168 MHz, sounds quite like the predecessor.

It is also listed as "new" at mouser, at a much higher price, though:

http://www.mouser.de/ProductDetail/STMicroelectronics/STM32F407G-DISC1

But it can be purchased cheaper from Farnell, and is available (at higher price) at Digikey, RS-Online, ...

http://de.farnell.com/stmicroelectronics/stm32f407g-disc1/entw-brd-stm32f407vg-found-line/dp/2506840

It would be great, if someone could buy one of these new boards and confirm compatibility!

Many greets!

Peter

found some originals at conrad.nl. I got a good deal: two pieces for €41 including shipping.  they give some kwantumkorting aka mengenrabatt aka volume discount for 2 pieces, at least on their .nl and .de

https://www.conrad.nl/nl/stmicroelectronics-stm32f4discovery-developmentboard-443910.html

Fair enough i think, farnell has €8 shipping below €50,-

7 minutes ago, Shuriken said:

Incase you are wondering, i merged the topics :wink:

yes, better this way :happy:

Hope the new version is compatible because since I have a look at RS, they just stop to sell the old one.

I rememberer they have lot in stock... I don't believe they sold all since, sound more like distributor deal with STMicro... the new one cost twice,