Advice for a complete novice

Guest justsomeguy

Guest justsomeguy

Hi there:

I've done a fair amount of 'simple' electronics (headphone amps, blinking led's, etc) and would like to try my hand at buildling a simple, small,  motorized fader mixer to use with Reason and/or Pro ToolsLE.   This project seems to be exactly what I was looking for.  Although I find the sheer amount of information here a bit overwhelming.  

I've done a fair amount of reading here, and I have a few questions that I can't seem to figure out.  Any  pointers would be great.

1) it would seem that "all i need to do" is build a Core, an AIN module and a DOUT module, connect the AIN up to the motorized faders, the DOUT to the midi out and power up.   Is that the case, or am i being naive?  ;D

2) Assuming i managed to build the simple programmer for the 18Fxx chip and got the right firmware,  are there any other modifications i need to make to the firmware, or is it "plug, solder and play" ?  

Thank you in advance for your answers.  

All the best,

Steve

1) it would seem that "all i need to do" is build a Core, an AIN module and a DOUT module, connect the AIN up to the motorized faders, the DOUT to the midi out and power up.   Is that the case, or am i being naive?  ;D

Almost, the motorized faders are directly read by the core, so no AIN board is needed for just motor faders.  If you want potentiometers, CV inputs, etc. then you need the AIN.

The DOUT connects to the core to drive LEDs, relays, etc.  You will need one or more if you use LED's on your control surface.

The only MIDI connections are on the core IN/OUT.

2) Assuming i managed to build the simple programmer for the 18Fxx chip and got the right firmware, are there any other modifications i need to make to the firmware, or is it "plug, solder and play" ?