infra red sensor

Guest mferolla

Guest mferolla

This is my first message here and Im starting my midi box im still waiting for the code to record the chip.

My question is if anybody try to replace a pot with an Infra red sensor so it can change the values from 0 - 5 V or 0-127 depending of your position from the led.

i saw this in some keybord like roland, thank you very much!

Mariano  ;D

• 4 months later...

hi everybody...

i ordered 2 of these ir sensors the other day, hoping they would be something we could work with.

http://rocky.digikey.com/WebLib/Sharp/Web%20Data/gp2d120.pdf

they pick up objects from 4-30cm, with output voltages from ~.4V - ~3.1V.  if i understand the concept of the PIC's A/D converters, this will result in a smaller range of possible values, thereby making the unit less accurate with a smaller range.  im a beginner in electronics, but i have a fair amount of programming experience.  is there anyone here that could lead me in the right direction on how to convert this analog signal from the (.4V-3.1V) range to (0V-5V) range?  im sure this is feasible, but i dont even know where to start.

if i get good results, ill be sure to share the information with the rest of the group.

thanks,

ffuzz

It wouldn´t be to hard to increase the voltage to a certain amount (just using an OPAmp).

But the question is, if the latency is low enough. The Photodiodes in the Roland Synthies (I owned one once - sold it) are quite slow - just hope thats because of the firmware. Would be a cool advancement for MBHP!!  :D

Yes - I've got one of these in a Roland Handsonic.  And I've been thinking about the same thing - I intend to make a MidiBox with one in.  I thought OpAmps needed +/- volts, rather than + and ground (e.g. a +5v supply and a -5v supply rather than +5v and 0v) and I think this is the problem with using them.  However, I think you know more about this than me, Pay_C, so feel free to correct!