Voltage concerns

OrganGrinder

Hi

This is my first post, so I hope it is in the right place.

I am a newbie with electronics, done some minor stuff in highschool >20yrs ago but generally don't know much.

I am trying to midify an old organ of mine while preserving the orginal organ.

The organ currently uses 15V, 17V and 20V for keys, pedals and stops respectively.  I also understand the DIN and DOUT modules from SmashTV work on a maximun of around 5V.

So my questions are:

1) for DIN, how do I limit the voltage from the organ so I don't fry the core/DIN.

2) for DOUT, how do I increase the output voltages to the requirements of the organ circuitry.

Thanks in advance

OrganGrinder

On the DIN side a simple resistive voltage divider can lower the voltage BUT it might upset the analog circuits in the organ.

DOUT is more complicated because you need to know what is needed in terms of both voltage and current.  Further, there might be issues of noise being introduced into the analog audio circuits.

Before you get too far into this you need to ask yourself why you want to preserve the original organ sound and why you want to use DOUT.

These days you can get an organ sound that is probably far superior to what an analog electronic organ produces.  Are you holding on to the analog circuits for any reason beyond a sense that you shouldn't discard that much circuitry?  I've been wrestling with the issue for years with my Rodgers Trio organ, a high end electronic of its time.  Other projects have kept me from doing anything with the Trio but I have decided that when I get back to it I'm stripping out the analog electronics as not worth the extra complications to making the console into a MIDI controller.