How to add a midi out socket to USB Midi keyboard ?

ohmstudiste

I recently purchased the Korg Legacy Collection wich comes with a MS20 controller. Works very nice.

Only thing is that the thing is USB only.

So I wanted to know how difficult is it to add a standard midi socket.

Two other things I like to add:

-The keyboard only transmit on channel 1. Is it possible to modify it in order to be able to transmit on 16 channel (using a button to chose midi channel)

-Two buttons that transmits program changes

Let me know if any of these mods are realistic or not  ;D

I am by no means an expert in these matters, however I think I can give a suggestion for changing the Midi channel.

The program MIDIOX (http://www.midiox.com/) has a lot of useful MIDI functions.  One of them is to be able to read incomming MIDI and convert it, then send it out.  (This will only work if MIDIOX is able to read your USB input).  The program you are using will then read its MIDI input from MIDIOX output and not your USB keyboard.

I hope this is of some help.

Thanx for the reply.

I know MidiOx, I use it almost every day to route, filter etc my gear and I know it's easy to do this with the software.

But what I want to do is have a hardware interface on the keyboard and to have the channel selection and program change hardware too.

You've really got two issues, a USB-MIDI converter and a midi filter/processor. The filter/processor is already written but I don't know enough about USB MIDI or the MBHP-USB module to tell you if the converter part is possible with a MIDIBox. Anyone?

The most important part for me is to get the Midi OUT socket, so the USB to MIDI interface. Because once I got the Out socket, I can merge the data into some other gear for instance.

I wasn't necessarly looking for a MidiBox solution, just wanted to know if this is possible and how.

Thanx for the reply