Filling-in Holes in C64 Case Advice

toneburst

I've just been drooling over Jorge's MBSID

http://www.midibox.org/forum/index.php?topic=5169.0

and

http://www.midibox.org/forum/index.php?topic=5047.msg32059#msg32059

and am thinking of attempting something similar with my SID synth project. Obviously, since I'm not a professional model-maker, I don't have access to the sort of tools he has, but I'd really like to be able to integrate the front panel into the case as he has done, rather than simply bolting it on to the front. I'd also like to fill in the holes in the back of the case. It doesn't have to be completely seamless and the colour of the blanking plates isn't vital, as I'm probably going to end up respraying the whole case anyway.

In terms of tools, I have (or am about to have) a dremel multitool, files and scalpels. Anyone any advice on how I should go about this job? I have several C64 cases I can cannibalise, so I should be able to use the same plastic to cover the holes. Any advice on what glues to use, and on any substance I could use to smooth over joins and maybe create the curve at the bottom of the blanking-plates would be very much appreciated.

I'm thinking maybe I could get Reichelt to create the panel in plexiglass and somehow fit it into the keyboard area of the original C64 Mk.1 case. There's a groove around the edge of the keyboard, so I thought I could try and cut away the keyboard and fit the new panel into the exact same area.... Maybe this is a little ambitious....

Thanks in advance guys,

Alex

http://www.toneburst.net