Volunteer for wikifing uccaps.de and idea of merging it with the actual wiki

timofonic

Hello,

I'm a big fan of MIDIBOX and hoping to soon having the enough money for mounting a MIDIBOX SID.

I'm addict to the wiki stuff and I have some experience on different wikis. I occasionally do some stuff on wikipedia and knowing the dokuwiki and tikiwiki syntax. I like to creating new articles and editing existing ones, my english is a bit poor but I try to write better on the wiki than forums or IRC/IM.

I think uccaps.de information must be on a wiki, this will help a lot the editing of the information by other people and improving it. Of course TK can review those changes too. An idea could be merging wiki.midibox.org with uccaps.de into one page because practically all content from ucapps is about midibox. The actual page could be redirected to the wiki.

TK: What do you think? I want to help in the wiki stuff, it seems it needs a bit maintaining on certain stuff and I  ask permission and your opinion before doing something. I don't want to annoy with stuff you can consider wrong by some reason I don't know. If you agree, I will help all possible on this effort and helping to maintain the wiki.

This idea isn't so new... the problem is, that so many people offered help in the past, but the results were only an overworked layout or re-verbalized informations from my own page with zero advantages for the users.

It's the content, that counts!

So, my proposal: copy an uCApps page into the Wiki, improve it dramatically, and I will replace the old page by the new wiki page. Please don't do this in hurry, but do this with full dedication. Don't try to revolutionise uCApps.de immediatly and left it as a long-term lot, but bring it slightly into a new direction!

Best Regards, Thorsten.

I would have to agree.  A page at a time is much more likely to get working results than a shotgun approach to the whole site.