my ableton controller

patstormont

I started building this ages ago to play live with ableton, my other midi controller(UC33) is on it's last legs, and i was never really happy with it anyway.

I had a big break from building but have decided to finish it off.

Basically it's setup like a 6 channel mixer with 3 band eqs, 2 sends, 1 mute button, 1 launch button, and 1 encoder per channel. It also has 4 joysticks to control fx, and a rather dodgy monome ripoff, which i'm not 100% sure will work yet. If it doesn't i'll just add more encoders instead.

I am a student, so i've been trying to do this on the cheap. I'm pretty pleased with how it's coming along. The only thing that i've screwed up so far is the drilling of the front panel isn't as square as it could be.

Anyway here's some pics.

884_DSC01141_jpg453113eebe0d6844315453a5

886_DSC01145_jpga969b4eb30c6ca3a9f4d6136

888_DSC01152_jpg3d5dec7b10b73033d94860b3

890_DSC01156_jpg81db2eb1438b2ef66cde6aa5

Let me tell you, ableton 6 has lots and lots of new MIDI futures. You might wanna use them with your box, so stop building, get ableton 6, and continue building :P

It has support for multi-midi-commands (unlimited crossfaders for everything), group-params, etc.

I would really really really want to take a look at that, if I were you.

I'm thinking of maybe having a small redesign. I was thinking of using the 4 buttons on top of the matrix to toggle between different setups, but i might add extra buttons for this

I have an encoder for each channel, these will be assigned to control insert fx parameters on specific to each channel.

I'm thinking of adding a multi colour led and a small button to switch between the parameters of the encoder. The led will show a specific colour for each parameter. So this brings me to a question:

Is it possible in the midibox 64e firmware to toggle through individual encoder assignments, or am i limited to toggling complete snapshots?

• 3 weeks later...