Guitar-like midi synth controller

squeal

OK so we talked about this project a bit in the "simple DSP inside Core Module?" thread, but I wanted to give an overview here.

The plan is to build a guitar-like midi controller for use with midi synthesizers. The strings of the guitar will be essentially ribbon controllers with vhs tape glued to a fretless guitar neck. From these circuits I will extract a pitch value and either quantize it and apply it at note-on or turn it into a cc to be applied to the synth's pitch bend parameter. Other, more exotic uses could probably be tested with ease once I have built it.

The strings will run over graphtech ghost bridge saddles which also act as individual pickups. (If anyone knows of a less expensive polyphonic pickup system, let me know. They are $100) Each string's amplitude will be converted by some means into midi-cc values, with the intent to apply these to a synth's volume parameter.

I have some experience in analog electronics and some c programming, but am new to pics and designing midi controllers, so I appreciate any input you guys have.

You might want to consider looking at the Hagstrom guitar synth approach. That utilised the strings and frets as a keyboard matrix. Each string was isolated, and the frets were wired into a matrix. That way, when the string was pushed onto the fret, it produced a discrete voltage. Obviously this doesn't allow for pitch bend, but it is fast (keyboard fast) and very reliable. It would also allow you to use standard pickups and regular magnetic strings. In fact, it would play just like a real guitar, except that it's not necessary to pluck the strings, just to fret them, to get the sound. I don't know if you've seen it, but the Stepp guitar synth used a similar detection method, with gate signals derived from a seperate set of strings, so maybe that could be a possibility if you use piezos as triggers. 

.....Because??