MIDIBOX CV - Higher Gate Voltage

bentron

Hi there,

i´ve just completed my midibox cv and it works really good.

But i have one (maybe stupid) question regarding the gate voltage:

I need to have a higher gate voltage than 5V, because i have a Roland SH-1 Synth wich doesnt react to the gate signal from the box, so i read the manual and noticed that it starts triggering at about 7,5 V.

So is it possible to increase the gate voltage? i mean, i did a previous project where you could just increase the circuit supply voltage to increase the gate voltage. but i have doubts that this will also work in this case.

And since i am pretty new to electronics, i will not try it either  :)

I´m using the AOUT Version, so maybe there is an option to increase the voltage only for the 2 gates provided by the AOUT?

Thanks in advance for your suggestions!

greets, bentron

Hi,

the gate voltage can´t be increased directly on the AOUT. But you can use an ULN2803. This is a driver IC which takes up to 8 logic inputs and drives corresponding outputs from a separate supply voltage (e.g. 9 or 12 Volts). This is a quite simple cirquit that can be built easily on vectorboard.

Seppoman

hi seppoman, thanks for your response.

i picked up a ULN2803 today and just connected it like described in the datasheet - means i didn't use any additional components, just the ic.

That didn't work and now i have a big problem: the gate port i connected to the ic is dead - it produces a constant voltage between 1,7 and 2,5 volts and doesnt react to midi messages anymore - did i destroy the pic?  ???  ???

i'm sure i had the right pinning on the ic but should i have used any additional components?

and is there any possibility to get the gate port back working?

i thought of replacing the software in the pic - i´ll try that and post the results.

any additional suggestions wuold be great.

thanks & greets,

bentron

Hi,