Software Pianos / QBas Scan Matrix

robinfawell

I am looking seriously at building a pc based digital piano.  There is a very large choice of programs including

4Front Technologies True Piano

Best Service Galaxy 11

Bluethner Digital Model One

Modartt Pianoteq

National Instruments Akoustik Piano

Sampletekk various simulations

Steinberg The Grand 2

Synthology Ivory

Vienna Symphonic Library Bosendorfer Imperial

At present I am studying QBas 16 X 16 scan matrix that is based on Thorsten's work for both scanning and velocity sensing.  It is hard going for me but I am beginning to understand the assembler code.

I have read that with velocity sensed keybeds there is a difference between the relative velocity (loudness) between the black and white keys.  I think that this will be the case for Fatar keybeds.

I hope to be able to compensate for the velocity difference with a change to the assembler code. 

Could QBas or anyone else confirm the black/white key problem.

Hopefully, I will eventually be able to understand the program sufficiently to provide additional comments to make the code more understandable to others.  I am retired from work and have more time than most.

Robin

I have read that with velocity sensed keybeds there is a difference between the relative velocity (loudness) between the black and white keys. 

I've never seen such a thing. It'll vary from one keybed to the next I guess.

I hope to be able to compensate for the velocity difference with a change to the assembler code. 

Yes you will :)

Hi guys,

I`m interesting in polishing code  of scan matrix with velocity.

I have idea how to find value(s) of difference between black and white keys:

Since I don`t know way how to calculate in realtime values of "velocity_curve", only by predefine LU table. So it is no problem to create different table (s) for black and for white keys.

Earlier I tried to find values for this table (and additional parameters like timer)