space available in the flash memory

Ldom

Hi there,

I haven't received the hardware yet from Mike but I'm already thinking about the program for the application I want to build.

Basically, I want to build a live song sequencer tool for my SP-404 Roland sampler triggered by a foot controller. I play the bass (hence the foot controller) and the SP-404 plays the rest of the music. I want to control the transitions by foot, so the idea is to get the midibox to get input from the foot controller and then send specific notes to the SP-404 to start/stop samples. To achieve this, I'll need a little bit of space to save the transitions (that I'll group into a song). I'll input those songs and settings through a simple 5-button/LCD user interface.

On to my question... I'm new to MIOS and I've noticed the PIC is a flash-based chip. Which means (correct me if I'm wrong) that the 32K of flash memory are used by the 8k of the MIOS bootloader and the program we write.

My asumption is that the rest is available to save data. Am I correct? If yes, what is the typical amount of user data we can count on?

Also, how do I know what is the available space on the flash or where does it start? I've seen the MIOS_FLASH_Read/Write() functions but I haven't found a function or a way that we'll let me find where the available memory starts. Or do I just have to know what is the size of my program and then use the memory that starts right after its last byte?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Laurent

If your sequence data is entered at run-time, which you said it is, then it needs to be dynamic...better to save it in the PIC's internal SRAM (IE, use a variable) or an external bankstick, than in the codespace where it cannot be changed. On top of the 32-96k of codespace, you also have 2-4k of variables, which is way more than you need :)

Do you prefer to code in C or ASM?

Thanks for your messages.

Yes, the sequence data will be entered at run-time.