real newbie

rogic

Hi Everyone,

First I must say that Thorsten's site and this whole community is reason why I love the Internet. You guys rule! Keep up the great work!

My friend and I are going to make a MIDIBOX; Since I am a total newbie to electronics, PCB & PIC programming is going to be done by an expert, but pots/buttons/LCD soldering, power and a case design is to be done by me & my friend.

We want to make a midi controller which purpose is going to be the control for a DJ software from Native Instruments, "Traktor". I've read somewhere in the old forum that someone (Thorsten maybe?) tested MIDIBox with it, and it worked fine. So, generally, we'll need MIDIbox for DJing purposes - therefore I have to ask you about some design concepts regarding this (it will be also nice to use it with reason, but not primary goal). First we wanted to avoid costs of LCD display and just generally use MIDIbox as a controller for Traktor (it has a MIDI-learn option), but then I am not sure MIDIbox will work properly with Reason (without bank switching).

1. We don't need MIDI in/out DIN female connectors. Since we don't own any keyboards, we'll need just a connection to PC. I assume we can omitt this part of the schematics and add a interface to gameport. Since it is a DJ console, is it possible to make it to a serial port (reason: laptop)? (I think I saw schema on Thorsten's site, but I don't know how to combine this with original PCB). Is it possible to exclude LEDs also? Motor extension is sure something we don't need.

2. We need around 20 pots/faders and 20+ buttons. What is the difference between MIDIbox 16E and MIDIbox 64 in terms of cost/complexity? Is it possible to attach more than 8 buttons to MIDIbox 16E? (16 pots will maybe be enough, but 8 buttons is not). Is it possible to build MIDIbox 64 with less than 64 faders/buttons?