My GM5 adventure

Breeze

Hi all! A little post for the benefit of anyone jumping into the GM5 kit blind. I've been DIYing electronics for many years, but I never did SMD till now.

Having moved to Win7-64, my $1k Unitor 8 mkII suddenly became a piece of junk (so much for "many years to come", Emagic...). I heard of the GM5 looking for an alternative, and ordered 2 of the small PC boards and 2 GM5s. I had never done SMD, but it stayed on my desk for a couple of weeks while I mustered the knowledge and courage to tackle soldering this tiny chip. To make a long story short, what worked for me was:

1. Having a 10X loupe and a magnifying lamp.
  2. Gluing the chip to the board with a tiny drop of epoxy! I couldn't get the damn thing to stop slipping after many, many tries.
  3. Using Flux! I tried going pin-by-pin flux-less, but it didn't seem to work well for me. I ended up damaging one of the traces on the board close to the GM5 and had to use a wire strand to fix it.
  4. Using the Flood and Suck Technique! Even with the flux, pin-by-pin was a PITA. So out of frustration I just flooded one side of the chip with solder, and then just used my desoldering pump to suck the excess. And it worked!!

I had this old MIDI distribution box which I chose to convert to use with the GM5. When I started mapping my extension board, it occurred to me that having LEDs would be a good thing. So I came back here to order the 5x5x5 PCB, but there were none left! So I bit the bullet and built my own: I strongly recommend anyone wanting to do this to be patient and get the 5x5x5 PCB because I spent a ridiculous amount of time hand routing a project PCB. However, the benefit of designing custom is that I added a few things: