Velocity Sensitivity

dfro

Hello all,

First of all, please excuse the length of this post.

I am interested in building a velocity sensitive midi keyboard and a velocity sensitive pedal board.  "Why build a velocity sensitive pedal board?," you may ask.  Well, the main reason I want to use a pedal board is to play the B4, however there are some great synth basses and sampled basses that would sound great with velocity.  I also think velocity sensitivity is an indispensable aspect of my musical expression.    I am mainly a jazz pianist, who wants to learn how to play jazz B3 (B4).  If I make a midi B3, I also want it to be a controller for the plethora of velocity sensitive sounds that are available.

I am new to the midibox projects, but I have tried several times to adapt the processors of existing keyboard controllers to a custom keyboard I am building.  I have designed and created several pcb's to house the scan matrixes and the SPDT spring switches that you often see in old keyboards.  I even gold plated them so that they would not corrode.  But up to now, I have not been able to get a dependable scan of the key motion.  At the time of my last midification attempt, I knew very little about electronics;  and the inner workings of the chips remained a mystery to me.  Now with the Midibox OS and apps I am filled with hope.  I know I can get this keyboard working just like I want, and also understand its inner workings.  I have begun to study some books on PIC programming, with the goal of understanding every word of the MIOS, if that is possible without being a programmer for a living.  I am excited to see where the documentation project goes, also.

The main question I have currently is --- Is there any interest in putting velocity sensitivity in the MIOS?  How hard would that be? Would it require an extra module to be created?  I think it would be a great addition to an already awesome arsenal of applications.