10 bit resolution

Chomsky

It's already 10-bit, you would have to send (N)RPN's or pitch control to use it though. Have a search for RPN on the forum and you'll find lots of info :)

Thank you for your reply. I'm very new to this Midibox-stuff and you have to answer me two questions:

1.) What is (N)RPN and CC?

2.) How can I convert CC to (N)RPN. In the Examples-section of the C-Interface-side of ucapps.de there is only an example how to convert CC to (N)RPN on an modwheel event. How can I do this on Pots-events?

1.) What is (N)RPN and CC?

CC is the abbrev. for ControlChange, which is one of the most important Midi Messages.

NRPN is an advanced feature to allow transmission of values greater than 7bit (0..127)

See here: http://www.midibox.org/dokuwiki/doku.php?id=midi_specification

If you follow all links on this page, you're a MIDI-Pro :)

2.) How can I convert CC to (N)RPN

Your question implies a lack of understanding:

Why do you want to convert a 7bit value to a 14bit value? (You can't make 14 cookies if you just got 7 ;) - means: increase the resolution from low to high. However, you can read the 10bit value of an AIN-pin (maximum resolution you get from MIOS) and convert (and send) this as 14bit (N)RPN or PitchBend, for example (this is also interpolated, but you got 3 Bytes more (0..1023 is 10bit, 0..16383 is 14bit – 0..127 is 7bit).

14 bit values are just 2x 7bit with a Least Significant Byte (LSB) and a Most Significant Byte (MSB). See the midi page @ borg.com for detailed info.

Chomsky, you said you want 10-bit resolution but you don't know how to use it... I wonder, what are you actually trying to do here?

I'd be interested, too :)

Chomsky, you said you want 10-bit resolution but you don't know how to use it... I wonder, what are you actually trying to do here? What's your desired outcome? Maybe we can find an easy way :)