Bournes encoder rant

docbrown

Do any of you guys (or gals, if any) know what manufacturer that makes those encoders found on those commercial instruments like Roland, Korg, Alesis, etc?

The reason I ask is because. No matter how much I try to adjust the speed, wheter I use DETENTED or DETENTED2 settings, I still have some skipping problem once in a while with my Bournes encoder on my MBSEQv2. Although, I found that DETENTED2 is much stable.

If I slightly bump any of the encoder, the settings gets out of whack!!  >:(  >:( Not very cool while in the live performance >:( >:(

I'm sure other folks in this forum feels the same as me ???.

A little encoder comparison:

I have a Roland JV1010 module. The click feel on this instruments encoder is very pronouced, you could really feel it, unlike the Bournes. Also, I noticed that it seems like the Roland's encoder detent is much further away than the Bournes. Hence, more reliable operation without skipping.

Since I'm new to this projects, I'm not sure if this is a quality problem with the Bournes encoder, or I miss another adjustments on some other files.

Even so, I still think those instrument manufacturer are using better encoders that we currently use.

Thanks for letting me vent out :'( :'(  whew!! ;)

Have you tried Alps encoders? The ones I am using (long shaft version) have a nice, solid THUNK feel when turning them.

Remember, because they are switches, if you are turning them faster than the hardware (namely, the Core and the software running on them) can recognize, they *will* skip or do other strange things.

-Steve

Have you tried Alps encoders? The ones I am using (long shaft version) have a nice, solid THUNK feel when turning them.

Thanks for the link..

Remember, because they are switches, if you are turning them faster than the hardware (namely, the Core and the software running on them) can recognize, they *will* skip or do other strange things.

-Steve