MB-SID PSU

cd_cd

Hello,

I'm just working in a MB-SID just to get rid of some parts that have been lying around for ages. And one of these parts is a 12V AC power supply. And now I'm wondering if I can use it to get my MB-SID running. Since I dont' have much of a clue about electronics I think I need your help. Have a look a the schematic below. Is this a solution that could work? The 12V AC (a little more than 12V) should be enough to get the 6581 Sid-module running, the 5V supply comes from the core-module. I thought the 7809 whould take away too much power for the 7805 on the Core Module. Do you think this s a solution that could work? Does this solution make sense or does it make noise? If not, how whould the perfect solution look like? What about the capacitors and/or Elkos: Where do I have to place them and what specifications should they have (this is why there are questionmarks in the schematic)?

Sorry for beeing a complete noob in those things, and I hope my english is good enough to understand my intetion.

Here is what I thought could be OK:

netz.jpg

When I did something similar a long time ago, before I started using a C64 PSU, I recall I had a really wierd problem caused by the ground of the SID module not being the same ground as the Core. You have to pay attention that there is a bridge rectifier in the Core and also in the SID module (so each of those could take AC or DC power) and keep in mind that if you pass DC through another bridge rectifier, the ground is going to be 0.6v higher because it has to go through a diode.

I would suggest you do the following (and I'm no expert, so do what you feel is right):

* connect the SID module to the output of the bridge rectifier, and connect it to the input of the 7812 on the SID module (i.e. bypass the bridge rectifier on the SID module).