MY first midibox adventure.. planning stages

levon

Hi everyone, ive been a long time lurker and posted a bit. but now i have decided to plan on building a midibox :D I hope this post is in the right place.

and of course i have alot of questions but i will limit them to a few in this first post.

first a bit about me. I'm a guitarist/drummer, etc... and a video editor by trade. i have a small bit of experience in programing C for Blender 3d, and also in python and flash actionscript. i have also be doing DIY electronics for a few years, build a distortion pedal, and 2 theremins, one a midi theremin. I'm also quite resorceful at hacking code together. and know midi quite well.

now my questions  i will give more detail on what  the application is afterwards

What i want my midibox to do, is send rotary encoders, or just standard pots as a midi SysEx message to a hardware controller.

eg, i want it to send something like F0 41 12 3A XX F7 where XX is the pot or encoder. is this possible with midi box?, i have searched, and not found anything describing it.

second, i would also like a button that can send a longer line of about 20-40 bits in length.

and on the matter of software, im assuming the answer will be the later... but should i use midibox 64 or MIOS. or will both be capable of what i want to do? which is easier for a noob to midibox.. but not to a bit of programing

Application:

i own a G9.2tt and i want to make a midbox to control it better, as the on board controls are a bit limiting and the midi implementation is limited to patch changing, turning each effect block on and off, and CC for the assignable expression pedals. i want this to be a bank of pots or encoders, to be used by hand.

so it seems midi Sysex is the only way to change some of the parameters on it.