A Project: Musical performance affected by physical interaction

knots

Hi,

I have started research in the last few days, trying to prepare to begin creating hardware and software that can intuitively receive information about physical interactions within audience members and use this information as variables to affect live music. Given my lack of experience using MIDI, feedback before I begin, and with what my focus should be on learning would be amazing, as I am a total novice, but extremely excited to learn.

The idea is based upon a piece of performance art created by Lucky Dragons, wherein a carrier signal is given to an audience member, who touches the people around him or her, holding a hand, touching an arm, passing the signal on, and using that person as a resistor. The changes in this signal are then converted to digital information interpreted by a computer, and processed through some kind of software to be stacked upon each other based upon the changes made by the number of people carrying the signal, and the nature of their contact. hanging in pitch and volume based upon the subtleties of that signal. I am not sure of his methods in doing this, but it is mostly the idea I am interested in adapting. There is documentation on his project, it's really very good, I highly recommend it:

http://www.notthisorthat.com/lucky_dragons.html