Newbie needs help with COREs apparently stuck.

cswift

Hi, I’m a newbie and I need some help with my MIDIBOXes.  I am midifying an electronic organ.  I have been working with electronic hardware for many years and am experienced at quality soldering.

At this time I have built 3 COREs and 7 DINs from kits I purchased from Smash TV. (Very nice PCB design, BTW)  Their IDs are 0000 0000 0000 0000, xx1, xx2. ID 0 has MIOS v1.9e. ID 1 & 2 have MIIOS v1.9f. I have a 2x16 LCD display which appears to work correctly.

I am trying to bring all three COREs up.  When first powered up, all three COREs came up, displayed the MIOS information and displayed READY.

I believe I followed the instructions accurately for installing the Application MIDIO128.ini file after conversion to a .syx file.  Sysexbox.exe appeared to function normally for a few blocks and then started giving occasional error codes such as 0B 5D.

Now, when I apply power to the any of the 3 COREs, the display shows 1INOff ---  0o.

I have tried to update the MIOS in ID 0 from v1.9e to v1.9f using MIOS Studio. I followed the procedure for a MIOS HEX Upload using the technique outlined at the bottom of the page where the “Wait for Upload Request†box is ticked, the program started, and then power is applied to the CORE.  The message “Received Upload Request†appears, then “Sending block 00000400 - 000004FFâ€, and then the program appears to hang.

At this point, I am stuck.  If there is a hardware error, I made it on all 3 COREs.  I would appreciate any help.

Thanks.

Carl 

Hi Carl,

I believe I followed the instructions accurately for installing the Application MIDIO128.ini file after conversion to a .syx file.  Sysexbox.exe appeared to function normally for a few blocks and then started giving occasional error codes such as 0B 5D.

I haven't tried the configuration via Sysexbox for a long time, it could be that there are incompatibility issues with newer MIDIO128 releases. I will check this soon.