Can I get help in changing the button handler routine in midibox64

Bassman

I'm still a major newb, but wonder if I can accomplish this for the MB64 that I am trying to build, it's coming along, mainly thanks to everyone here.

I want to change the button handler routine to clear a LED shift register then set the LED to indicate the toggled button. Basically, to show only the last pressed button and cancel previous LEDs. I don't want this to happen with all shift registers, just the ones that require it.

I've studied the MB64_BUTTON_GP_NoSFB and MB64_BUTTON_OnOnly (the only situation I need it) and the MB64_BUTTON_Send and MB64_LED_Set routines, but I suspect the changes need to be made in MIOS. I don't want to mess with that as it's TK's work.

Does anyone know how to begin with this?

Keith

I don't see a reason why a change has to be made in MIOS... there are many applications (like MBSID, MBSEQ) which provide such functions as well. They are not made for your usecase, of course ;)

MB64 groups the 64 LEDs into 8 bytes. Each bit represents a LED (8x8 = 64)

The first group is located in MB64_BUTTON_VALUES_SR0, the second in MB64_BUTTON_VALUES_SR0+1, the third in MB64_BUTTON_VALUES_SR0+2, etc...

Example: If you would clear all bits in MB64_BUTTON_VALUES_SR0, before setting the bit which corresponds with the LED, you would easily get a "radio button group" of for 8 LEDs/buttons

E.g., if you want to use it in conjunction with the "OnOnly" button function, just add:

[tt]

MB64_BUTTON_OnOnly

;; save status of button

rcall   MB64_BUTTON_Hlp_SaveStat

;; when on: send button value defined in dump

;; when off: send nothing

BRA_IFSET TMP1, 0, ACCESS, MB64_BUTTON_NotifyChangeEnd

;; new

SET_BSR MB64_BUTTON_VALUES_SR0+0

setf MB64_BUTTON_VALUES_SR0+0  ; turn off first 8 LEDs

rgoto   MB64_BUTTON_Send

[/tt]

and it will work.

Wrong! See Keith's final solution below