Two problems: DIN and 18f4685

Luigi65

Hi to all. First of all I'd like to thank the wonderful group of MIDIBoxers that really did a wonderful work.

I have two problems:

1) I have a 18F4685 but I cannot compile it (not in the Valid devices list). Actually I'm using the statement

PROCESSOR = 18f452 in my makefile  (mios_base_v1_0b)

2) I have a core unit with a LCD, and I don't know what pin to use (and how) for a Digital In. Are there any still available?

I have a FATAR masterkeyboard TMK88. Very cheap very light but very poor MIDI implementation (no velocity curves, just MIDI chn 1, no transposition, etc...). I had problems with black and white keys (different strenght for having the same velocity codes) and I already have successfully compensated it with separate black and white velocity response curves with my MIOS_CORE unit.

Now I'd like to add transpose caps as well as split, layers, etc...

I'm thinking to add a DIN input to enter a special modality and then press some keys of the keyboard to input data. Most master keyboards work in this way. But where should I have to connect the switch? Are there C examples? Do I need a DIN board?

Thank you in advance,

Luigi

2) I have a core unit with a LCD, and I don't know what pin to use (and how) for a Digital In. Are there any still available?

Do I need a DIN board?

I think you may get one, two or three pins, but have to implement some low-level techniques:

please search this forum for J5 and DIN, this topic has been covered in one or two threads.

When you need more DINs, you also need a DIN-module. In this case see:

http://ucapps.de/mios_c_send_din.html

dunno about the PIC, but you should get a PIC that's already supported by MBHP/MIOS

regards,

Michael

18f4685 is supported by MIOS now... you've been gone a while AC  ;D

oh yes... and I'm very bad with names: how should I remember all these PIC variants... I'm so glad when I succeed in remembering my 4-digit creditcard pin  ::)