Controlling Sony Minidisc with MIDI

philetaylor

Hi.

Sorry if this is the wrong forum, but I am new here.

I am interested in the midibox project and I have an application that I would like to try. I have a sony MDS-E52 Minidisc Deck which can be fully controlled via an RS-232 interface. It appears that a good staring point for me would be to purchase a Core and LTC module and then write an interface between MMC and Sonys RS-232 protocol??

From searching the archives, somebody asked a similar question about 5 years ago but there didn't seem to be any follow-up other than it should be possible.

I am a C programmer and I have some experience of assembler (from college many years ago!) but before I embark on this project I wondered if it is likely to be possible? Can I use MIDI<->RS-232 with the LTC module and control what is sent over the RS-232 port or can it just be used as a TO-HOST style port?

Also the Sony desk only supports 9600,n,8,1. Is it possible to set this baud rate on the serial port and still support MIDI commands on the MIDI ports?

I would appreciate any pointers anybody can give me.

Thanks

Phil

As you guessed, the basic core has only one serial port, and we usually use it for MIDI. (MIDI is a serial protocol at an odd baud rate).

So you are correct that you would need more ports to make this work. I have no experience with the LTC, so I'll do a bit of research.. (reading.. reading.. OK, I'm back)

I looked the LTC over. It can do the serial voltage changes I mentioned below with a MAX232, but you'll lose the MIDI ports to get the serial port. The IIC module can apparently add more MIDI ports for you.

Now we need an expert to tell us if we can use both at once. :-)