Connecting a HC4053 to DOUT

WickedBlade

Hey guys,

I'm still a newb here, and for my project (PBEX+a) I would like to use a CMOS switcher, but I have almost no clue as to what and how.

I know that I'll have only 5V power supply to work with, so the CD4053 seems out (if I understood the datasheets correctly).

I've found another candidate, that would be the HC4053. This one seems to be working with lower voltages, so that might be a winner. But I don't know how to check that and how to design that part of the circuit.

Specifically:

the HC4053 wants a 'negative input voltage' (Vee), I'm wondering if feeding this with ground would work, possibly by supplying a fake, positive ground to pin GND. I was thinking of feeding 0/2.5/5V respectively to Vee/GND/Vcc. But I don't know if the switching inputs would still be happy with being wired to DOUT.

Of course I've tried to do some research on the forum, but couldn't come with good keywords. If anybody could give me some clue or, even better, a schematics, that would be much appreciated.

The datasheet can be found here: http://www.st.com/stonline/books/pdf/docs/7731.pdf

you can connect both GND and VEE pins of the hc4053 to GND at the same time, that's no problem. But another problem I ran into is that the 4053 doesn't like being fed signal that is outside of the supply voltages. So as a normal audio signal is bipolar, you will need to feed -5V Vee to not damage the IC. Otherwise you could also use reed relays for signal switching, there are types with SPDT action, although not very common and a bit on the expensive side.

S

Thank you for your help.

I guess that it's OK for me then, because I won't use it for signal routing, only for amp channel switching, where the signal is constant.

Just to make sure: this wouldn't be possible with a CD4053, or would it?