midibox64 - numerology - modular synth

RichG

Hi, I'm new. I've been reading through the forum here, and also at the wiki and the uCApps.de site for the past few days, and it's all very impressive, excitement-inducing, and more than a little overwhelming.

1. I've never soldered anything before

2. I know {0} about coding or programming

3. I'm just a musician who, after swimming around in the above-referenced websites, is suddenly obsessed with the idea of building a custom "instrument!"

4. I'm very determined, and hopefully not too stupid!

I have a modular synth, and I like controlling it with Numerology. What I would like to do is build a midibox64 to control Numerology, and thereby the modular. I guess I'd need an AOUT module for this, and I see that it is an option for the MB64. But I'm confused on a couple of points (please pardon me if this information is somewhere else -- believe me, I tried to find it):

1. Flow of midi data. The midibox and my computer would have to have two way midi transfer, I'm pretty sure, to allow control from the midibox, and feedback (not loop feedback) from the computer. How do I fit the MBCV into this loop? Do I put a midi merge module somewhere? I guess what I want the CV outs to reflect would be the data from Numerology, after it has been altered by the MB64. So could it be set up so that the computer sends midi to the MB64, and then THRU to the AOUT module?

2. I want to use the AOUT_NG module, if possible. I want the 8 gate outputs in addition to the 8 CVs. But uCApps lists the basic AOUT module as the CV out option. Does it matter to substitute _NG?

3. Is the AOUT option also supported for MB64E?

I think a MB64 Numerology controller with 8 CV and gate outs would be one absolutely killer box! And I want to build it!! I really appreciate any input, as to my points of confusion or otherwise.

Thanks!

Hi,