sammichSID dead after everything was ok

ieatmumble

Hey everyone,

so i finished soldering my sammichSID about two weeks ago and after soldering everything and the voltage tests (everything was perfect) i had to take a break from it. This might be important so i have to say that after the tests i installed the ICs and then left it alone for two weeks.

Today i got some time so i set up everything and when i turn it on so i can upload the firmware..bam..nothing happens, not even the LCD or anything. So i check the voltages again and everything is dead in the water.

I'm not very good at this but my instincts tell me there's something wrong with the bridge rectifier as i get these voltages:

bridgevoltage.th.jpg

Any ideas? Should i check something else and if the bridge rectifier is broken can i replace it with a 1,5A/1000V peak one as i couldn't find an identical one on the local online shops i found these which seem to be pretty close.

Thanks a lot for everything,

Dan.

Edited by ieatmumble

Everything was fine until you put the ICs in - that hint towards an IC put in the wrong way around. Do you get the correct voltages when you remove the ICs again?

What PSU are you using? From your measurements it looks like 12VDC.

Are you _sure_ you haven't changed _anything_ else?

Everything was fine until you put the ICs in - that hint towards an IC put in the wrong way around. Do you get the correct voltages when you remove the ICs again?

What PSU are you using? From your measurements it looks like 12VDC.

Are you _sure_ you haven't changed _anything_ else?

I removed the PIC and the ICs and i still get no readings except on the bridge rectifier from what i see. And i triple-checked the position of the ICs and the jumpers so i really don't think there was something wrong there.

The PSU i use is a regulated 12VDC one indeed.

Since you have voltage problems, you do NOT put any ICs back on the board until you have fixed them.