newbie greetings

lilakmonoke

hi all im an electronic musician from berlin and really like the sound of the opl3. the midibox community is amazing!

i cant find any sammichFM kits/builds so now im considering building a midibox fm instead. i think i can handle the soldering except for the tiny feet of the opl3 chips. because of that i would rather buy/trade a complete build but i will also try to build myself. where do i start?

cheers!

florian

Hi lilakmonoke!

In my experience it's not that hard to solder the OPL3 and YAC512s--it's more time-consuming than soldering through-hole stuff, but not really harder. First melt a bit of solder onto each of the pads without the IC there. Then, holding the chip in place on the board with one hand and the iron with the other, push the leg into the solder with the iron, melting the solder. Do this for the two diagonally opposite corner legs first, and make sure the chip is aligned properly so all the legs are right on top of their pads. Once it looks good, do the other two diagonal corners and check again for alignment. Finally push each leg down into the solder, waiting about 20 seconds every couple legs to let the chip cool down again. If a connection doesn't "look" good (you can sort of see with a magnifying glass if the solder has flowed onto the leg), add a bit more solder and see if that does the trick. Finally use a multimeter in continuity test mode to make sure there's no connection between any adjacent legs. If you want to be really thorough, follow each trace and do a continuity test between the OPL3 leg and wherever the trace connects to (obviously these should all show a connection).