Start-up Needs to Midify Console

Wurlibird1

After much delay (actually, years) I am returning to the building of my VTPO.  It will consist of 

three manuals and 32-note pedalboard, second touch on Pedal, Accompaniment, and Great.  The configuration I am considering will include a total of sixty (60) pistons plus a General Cancel, two (2) Swell shoes, and Crescendo.  Other additions will come later.

What MIDIbox components will I need to convert this configuration to MIDI?  I have researched the Forum and WIKI but would like for 'the voice of experience' to confirm my requirements.

Thanx,

Jim Pitts

Hi Jim,

I have been playing with Midibox for over 5 years now.  All of my projects have used the basic MIOS with modifications to the Midio128 version 2 and version 3 software packages.  It so happens that what you are planing to do can be done with the Midio128 v3 software.  You shouldn't have to change any of the basic software, just configure it for your use.  The advantage here is that all of the inputs you are asking for can be supported by just one core.

My opinion would be to wire your keyboards and pistons in an 8 by 8 matrix configuration.  Midio128 will support up to 8 of these 8x8 matricies and you will need to use all 8 of these for the number of key inputs and Midi channels you want to send to your PC.  I beleive that the matrix system is hard coded to send Note ON/OFF messages only.  There is a "MODE value of "NORMAL or MAP but I don't know what it does.  You might find this in the documentation.  You configure which shift regisers (16 pins) will be used, the starting note, and the Midi Channel to send the messages out.  One thing that I don't know is being able to configure your pistons to send Program Change messages.  If you are using Hauptwerk then the PC can be configured to use Note ON messages for your pistons if thats the only thing that can be sent. 

You can buy most of this stuff from SmashTV  http://mbhp.avishowtech.com/buy.html