A very ignorant question on a critical concept

superfeed

Hello all, :)

I found this site a couple of years ago, and was blown away.  Here and there as time permits, I have laid out a design, as I have found components at the local surplus store.

I have designed a straightfoward setup with 17 faders, 60 some momentary switches, nearly the same amount of leds, 48 10k pots, and one encoder I scavenged off of an old Panasonic proffesional VCR.

I am having no problem soldering this mess together and hooking it up, and am nearing completion.

How does the MIOS work?

I have never used midi before, other than an old alesis effects unit that I controlled with a footswich. :)

I am going to use my midi-box to interface with a software called C-Console that I use to route audio on a yamaha dsp2416 card, as well as Cakewalk Sonar, that I use to record audio with.  both of these apps can learn the moves from a midi device.  How does MIOS help me to interface the midi-box with this stuff?

Do I just load the MIOS into the computer, and it recognizes the midi-box?  Is there a gui interface that I work with to make it go?

Thanks for your input, I feel a lot of anxiety with the box coming together, and me wanting to hook this stuff up, and I don't have a basic understanding of how this stuff works.

John Gregory