(another) Newbie questions before starting a MIDIbox SID

ohmstudiste

Hi to all,

I've been thinking of building a MIDIbox SID for months and now  I'll make the big jump. I live in France,  I'm new to electronics and I don't know much, except that I've already soldered components in my my life ;)

Basically what I want to do is that:

A Midibox SID with two 8580, mainly for stereo use. I want to have a LCD, some knobs and of course midi in, out and thru (if that last one isn't two difficult to add).

I've browse the site but I'm still confused on what part I need.

I'll probably buy some premade kits (from http://avi.dezines.com/mbhp/index.html probably)

1 ) So what do I need for what I want:

2x CORE Kits

2x SID Kits

1x DIN Kits

1x DOUT Kits

1x 2x20 LCD (btw is this one ok  http://cgi.ebay.fr/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=5746937894&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT ?)

5x Rotary encoders (with switch ??)

1 small PCB for the LCD

LEDs ?

What else ?

2)  I got a c128 without power supply. I'll get a second c128. Can I use the C128 power supply for the whole project ? Is a C64 power supply better ?

3) Since I plan to order kits, what about the PIC18F452 bootloader/PIC ID header thing ? I didn't understand that. There is an option when you order  to have it programmed. How do they have to be programmed ? Both PIC programmed the same ?

4) Then once I got all  the parts, is it just a question of putting them together and solder (more or less of course, I understand that since every MIDIBox is custom made, issues are inevitable, specially as far as power is concerned) ?

5)Do the kits include all the parts ? For instance are DIN sockets included for the MIDI in/out ?

Another stupid question:  where do the audio plugs fit in the scheme ?? Is it simply a question of soldering one plug from the SID PCB to the audio plug ? Jack ones are preferred ?