@ AutoCad experts: snap to midpoint of a rectangle?

rambinator

Hi there!

I have to redo my frontpanel design in a very short time  with AutoCad because there will be a bulkorder from mexico on the german forum.

As I am not an expert (maybe not even a beginner yet) with AutoCad I encountered some essential problems I need to solve.

1. I have rectangular breakthroughs for buttons. These buttons will be on a vectorboard so I need to align their midpoints to a 2.54mm grind, right? With circles thats not a problem i can grip the midpoint with snap-mode on (snap to middle activated)  and then drag it to any point on the grid. With rectangles I can't grip to the midpoint, the mouse doesn't seem to find it.

2. The grid is only beeing displayed in a small area around the coordinates' origin. I want it to be displayed everywhere, is this possible?

I would appreciate any suggestion as I need to work this out quite fast.

Thnx

rambinator

i'm doing autocad as a part of my college course  ;D i can help you but u must describe the problem more clearly

i wouldnt recomend allinging the button cutouts to the grid since that brings its own problems, u can work out how far they are apart ,from each other, so if the pitch of the board is 2.54mm, and u want to have your buttons to be 100 mm from each other. have them at (2.54x39=99.06) that will give u allinged position,

i think u can also change the grid to that and then use Move command, make sure u turn off snap to grid in the lower bottom panel.

i'm at coll now so i  dont have much time, exqueeze me for mistakes

Yarek T

If you find the time it would be very helpfull to explain why aligning to the grid wouldn't be helpfull, because

it's beeing suggested in this thread:

http://www.midibox.org/forum/index.php?topic=1629.0