18F + SID

Guest Klaas

I recently build a sid with an extra core + AIN for realtime controls over the parameters. Now i followed the new MIOS concept (which looks stunning). But what isn't exactly clear to me is that if it is possible to use one core with 18F to drive a sid module + an ain module for realtime controllers without the requirement of an extra core for the AIN module since I saw there is space in the PIC for two seperate applications.

Maybe it's a stupid question but I'm a newbie in elctronics and actually I was quite amazed to get the SID working in a couple of weeks. I'm now working on a 19" enclosure (not from schaeffer but a drill expierence for myself).

Thorsten I've followed your site since the first release of the midibox plus (which I of course build) and you're the man who drove me into electronics. Thanks for that  :D!!

Muchas Respect!!

Hi Klaas,

major problem of the PIC16F architecture are the memory limitations, therefore it wasn't possible to offer such a high flexibility like with the PIC18F. In theory it could be possible to include an ADC driver for some pots to the PIC16F firmware of MIDIbox SID, but this would result into a lot (!!!) of effort for me - to find some free RAM, some free program memory in the 4 memory banks, and to build the hardware in order to test the extension. And the next guy wants to use rotary encoders, another guy wants a sequencer... not with me ;-) Since I don't use the MBSID in this configuration, this would be lost time for myself.