Too many Questions (#1)

vedge

Hello

First out of many questions.

I dont get how to one is supposed to limit the current being fed to a certain pin of "something" without droping voltage getting to it.

In a daughter board im making, I want to keep feeding off the main 7805 for +5vdc, but if i use a resistor to limit the current going to my pin, of course the voltage will drop, and i dont want that.

For instance, with the current core desing, the +5vdc is fed to pin 32 of the PIC, and pin 25 of the 6581,

fine, but both these chips do have spec sheets on which its said that they should only be fed

a certain maximum current.

250 mA for the PIC, (PIC18FXX2 manual section 22.0), and

100 mA for the 6581 (http://stud1.tuwien.ac.at/~e9426444/sidtech3.html)

Now call be total newbie in electronics (true), but i just dont get it.

is that a power consumption? or a "feeding limit" .. why dont these chips fry if i have 500 mA input?

Im working on a few secret projects to drive some other sound chips.

Im a very good audio/MIDI/realtime programmer,

but a total retard in electronics, and i just have soo much to learn.

the CHIP docs say

"Supply Voltage (VCC) | MIN 4.5 VDC | TYP 5.0VDC  | MAX 5.5VDC"

"ICC Supply Current | OUtputs Open |Typ 30 mA | Max 50 Ma

Thanks in advance for my stupid questions. Hopefully this one is the stupidest...

For almost everything except LEDs, the maximum supply current is the most it will draw.  If you want to protect the device from drawing too much current (due to a fault such as a short circuit), use a fuse or a polyswitch.  You'd usually only use 1 protection device per regulator.

LEDs don't limit the current they draw and will overheat and damage themselves if not regulated.  Since most LEDs have a voltage drop of less than 5V, you use a resistor to drop the extra voltage and limit the current.  If you really want a constant current regulator, use a LM317.

Hi,