MIDIBOX Controller with LED/LCD

wackazong

Hi!

I am completely new to the MIDIBOX, but I would like to build my own MIDI controller, and it looks as if MIDIBOX could do the job. What I require ist:

- about 100 buttons, each with an LED to show whether its on/off. Pressing the button sends a CC Message on a predefined channel, on receiving a cc value, the LED should light (with value 127) or go off (with value 0). Pretty easy so far, I suppose.

- about 32 endless rotary encoders, each with an LED ring that shows the current fader position and can also be set via a MIDI CC message (the same CC the encoders sends when turned)

- an LCD display for each encoder, which can receive MIDI Messages (SysEx, I suppose) and display arbitary text sent by the SysEx Message.

Would that be possible? Any comments would be very much appreciated, as I am completely new to MIDIBOX and MIOS, but very willing to learn :)

Thanks, ALEXander.

welcome aboard mate :)

What you want to do is possible, but maybe a little impractical. 100 buttons+leds is not soooo bad by itself, and nor is 32 encoders plus led rings, but in order to have both in one box you will require multiple core modules.

32 displays is possible but very impractical - each core can handle a single LCD, unless you're talking about PCD8544 screens (nokia) then you can have 8 per core.

I would suggest two things: Firstly, have a read on the forums and wiki about DOUTs and DINs and how they work and how many can be handled, and also think about the way in which most midiboxes and commercial controllers work, in that they use 'banks' of controllers, like they might use 4 banks of 8 encoders instead of 32 physical encoders.

Hope that helps!

Thanks! MIDIBOX never sleeps :)

I will have a look at the DIN and DOUT, and at what happens when you use 4 cores together. I know about banks and so on, but I really want that many buttons, it will be an interface for improvisation, and life's too short to switch banks :)