[S] I appear to have many 4mm tact switches...

Peake

Edit: New and unused 4mm (three perf board hole spacing) quadrature temporary switches, the same kind as in the A6 Andromeda. 12 cents or 0,08 EU each.

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y222/mpeake/TactSwitch.jpg

Either of the pair of input pins are fed through to both output pins when pressed.

Let me know if the price is ridiculous in either direction. Know that they are a bit "wobbly" in that the mechanism has a bit of play. Find an A6 and you'll see if you like them or not. I don't know who makes caps for them, but there must be a few types out there somewhere.

Back to your original post:

Hi, I'm a noob and was once on the A6 Andromeda (Alesis) synth development team. I have some switches that I rescued from the bankruptcy dumpster, and they appear to be usable for MIDIboxes. I'll get a photo uploaded tonight. They're very similar to the brown-cap switch in this pic:

http://www.sequentix.com/build/old/images/Switch%20choice.jpg

except that they appear to be of higher quality as well as having a blue tip. I don't know if they're worth anything, but if these are useful, I have many and am interested in trades for MIDIbox componentry. Of course, these are likely a penny apiece or something and you only need three for a SEQV3  ;D

I'm out for the morning, please let me know if you have any insight...

Today and the next few days are nuts so I can't spend as long as I wish online. I can't find a ruler or measuring tape! This may help; it's 3 perf holes wide (definitely not the 15 or so mm of the one in the above photo!)

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y222/mpeake/TactSwitch.jpg

They have four pins, but I don't know if they're SPST or SPDT (or??) I don't know the part so I can't get a datasheet.

Thanks for the replies and the welcomes!

My thoughts exactly.

It's a temporary switch, not locking, which I suppose is fine for scanned applications (MIDIbox, A6, etc.).